Auto Body Repair & Mechanic - Cambridge Auto Center History

History of Cambridge Auto Center

The property we occupy has a rich history in the automotive business. In 1914, the building was erected for the sole purpose of repairing automobiles. Near the turn of the century, the "garage business" was a new and exciting industry. In 1916, the garage opened for business as the Inman Square Garage. In a 1917 newspaper clipping from The Cambridge Chronicle, it was known as "one of the largest in the city" and boasted such amenities as a blacksmith shop, an area for washing cars, and even compressed air for the tires. The building was able to store 150 vehicles and was fire-proof.

Throughout later years, the facility was used as the Jenney Oil Company and the Standard Oil Company truck garage. Later on, in the 1950s and 1960s, it returned to its glory as Trimount Motors and then Gene Datsun.

Originally established by the Ko Automotive Group as Cambridge Nissan, Cambridge Auto Center has been doing business in Inman Square since 1984. In 2002, Nissan of North America decided that our facility no longer suited their size requirements. The Nissan dealer was then replaced with what is now a first class independent repair facility that has NO manufacturer ties.

It only seems fitting that we honor the rich history of our location. We are a large, well established automotive business with diverse talents. Like the ones who have come before us, we boast many abilities; from the smallest maintenance needs to very elaborate structural welding repairs and everything in-between.

As an independent repair shop, we have the ability to repair ALL makes and models of cars. We are a one-stop-shop for all of your automotive needs.

Collision Center:

HOURS:

Mon:
7:30 am - 5:30 pm
Tues:
7:30 am - 5:30 pm
Wed:
7:30 am - 5:30 pm
Thur:
7:30 am - 5:30 pm
Fri:
7:30 am - 5:30 pm
Sat:
8 am - 1 pm

CONTACT INFO:

Cambridge Auto Center
1280 Cambridge St.
Cambridge, MA 02139
Phone:
617-661-1320